skip to Main Content

Carla Carlson Named 2023 Water Hero

Carla Carlson, hydrologist/analyst for Muckleshoot Tribal Nation, named 2023 Water Hero

During our 2023’a Celebrate Waters evening, CELP proudly presented Carla Carlson, retired Muckleshoot Analyst/Hydrologist with the Ralph Johnson Water Hero Award for her service and dedication to tribal water rights and instream flows around the state.

During her 31 years at Muckleshoot as a water resource analyst/hydrologist, Carla helped protect tribal treaty water rights in WRIA’s 8, 9, and 10 by providing technical and scientific input on groundwater appropriations to Ecology, analyzing and testifying on harmful water bills at the state legislature, and negotiating water right settlements. Some successes included providing expert testimony to support Ecology denials of water rights for cases at the PCHB, which culminated in the state supreme court decision on Postema; conducting water quality and flow studies to help reach a joint tribal agreement with the Cascade Water Alliance on the Lake Tapps water supply; and working with the tribal natural resource lobbyist to “kill” bad water bills at the state legislature. Other successes include collecting and providing data to Ecology to place a portion of the Lake Washington Ship Canal on the 303d list for temperature and helping to secure state funding and tribal involvement for the Lower White River Restoration project.

CELP is immensely grateful for the work Carla has done over her 30-year career to protect our water resources, and we again thank everyone who attended for helping us recognize Carla for her contributions toward ensuring that future generations have access to clean and flowing waters in Washington!

Water Heroes
1. Rachel Paschal Osborn, Water Hero 2001
2. Benella Caminiti, Water Hero 2004
3. Nancy Rust, Water Hero 2006
4. Mickey Gendler, Water Hero 2008
5. Russ Busch, Water Hero 2010
6. Harriet Bullitt, Water Hero 2011
7. NW Indian Fisheries Commission, Water Hero 2012
8. Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, Water Hero 2013
9. Ann Aagaard, Water Hero 2014
10. Upper Columbia United Tribes, Water Heroes 2015
11. Professor William H. Rodgers Jr., Water Hero 2016
12. Dr. John Osborn, Water Hero 2017
13. Water Heroes 2018
14. In Memory of Nancy Shuttleworth Rust: Former CELP Board President & Ralph W. Johnson Water Hero Awardee
15. Larry Wasserman, Water Hero 2019
16. Professor Emeritus Robert Anderson, Water Hero 2020
17. Sharon Haensly, Water Hero 2021
18. Kimberly Ordon aka KO, Water Hero 2021
19. Daryl Williams, Water Hero 2022
20. Carla Carlson Named 2023 Water Hero
Back To Top